Who am I?

I am currently a college student in the United States.  Within the next year, it is my goal to be a sworn law enforcement officer, though that all depends on when and where I get that opportunity.  I am also an atheist, a skeptic, and a humanist.  For some reason, many of my fellow Americans appear to believe that this means that I lack morals, and am untrustworthy.

That leads into my next topic, what this blog will not be.  It will not be a highly personal account of my experiences leading up to, and after my becoming a police officer.  There are other bloggers equally qualified to write those stories, and I will be keeping this blog as anonymous as possible for the time being.  While I am open about who I am and what I believe with my friends, I have no way of knowing how my beliefs will affect my ability to get the job I want, given that I live in one of the more conservative states in the bible belt.  Other accounts on the Internet lead me to believe that I am being overly cautious, but I will be better able to assess that once I’m hired.

This blog also will not be an expert’s account on law enforcement.  I claim no expertise in that area as yet.  Any opinions I express are to be taken with a grain of salt, because I don’t have the training or the experience to be considered an expert.  I will, however, do my best to live up to my skeptical ideals and not hold a position without some supporting evidence.

Now for what this blog will be.  I hope to write about law enforcement from a skeptical perspective.  I would like to combat the belief that atheists are necessarily immoral and less worthy than theists.  I also would like to discuss topics of opportunity such as feminism, separation of church and state, and creationism/evolution.  Hopefully the variety means you won’t get bored!

One thought on “Who am I?

  1. Looking forward to this. For one who is actively part of the process of Law (enforcement), I’m sure you’ll have a unique perspective on the laws you enforce, but more to the point, why you enforce them even from your ‘rational’ world-view. Give proof to the lie that morality is god-given.
    Oh, and give ’em hell!

Leave a Reply

